The Mental Health Minute

Articles and news about mental health issues

Check out my new article at EzineArticles.com

Just submitted an article for public reference and use called, ” Facts You Need to Know Before You Are Admitted to a Mental Health Unit” that describes in detail what to expect if you are going to be in a psychiatric unit.  People don’t always realize that being a patient in a psychiatric unit is very different from being a patient on a medical floor.

I frequently find myself  explaining the differences on a daily basis, so I felt an article was appropriate.  I tried to make the information universal, as each state has a variant of the basic Mental Health Laws.  I have worked in several states, so do understand that there might be differences.  Basically, the article gives useful, generic information that you need to know prior to being admitted to a psychiatric facility or psychiatric unit in a medical hospital.

My article explains the similarities as well as the differences.  It also explains the types of admissions that come to a unit and what each type entails.  Also discussed are the criteria for discharge because this is very different from being discharged from a medical floor.

Hope you read it.  Leave a comment and tell me what you think.  Feel free to use the article if you think it will help.

August 13, 2009 - Posted by | Articles posted

7 Comments »

  1. Excellent site, keep up the good work

    Comment by Bill Bartmann | September 2, 2009 | Reply

  2. Cool site, love the info.

    Comment by Bill Bartmann_ | September 11, 2009 | Reply

  3. I don’t know If I said it already but …I’m so glad I found this site…Keep up the good work I read a lot of blogs on a daily basis and for the most part, people lack substance but, I just wanted to make a quick comment to say GREAT blog. Thanks, 🙂

    A definite great read..

    -Bill-Bartmann

    Comment by Bill Bartmann | September 21, 2009 | Reply

  4. I don’t usually reply to posts but I will in this case, great info…I will add a backlink and bookmark your site. Keep up the good work!

    Comment by Tony Brown | September 24, 2009 | Reply

  5. Super site….where’s the blog roll?

    Comment by Online Stock Trading | September 27, 2009 | Reply

  6. Your blog is so informative … ..I just bookmarked you….keep up the good work!!!!

    Comment by Online Stock Trading | September 29, 2009 | Reply

  7. Pretty cool post – raises some interesting points for debate. I just stumbled upon your blog this morning and wanted to say that I have really liked browsing some of the posts. Anyways, I’ll be subscribing to your feed and I hope to read more very soon!

    Comment by Virginia Guess | April 6, 2011 | Reply


Leave a Reply

