The Mental Health Minute

Articles and news about mental health issues

Patient assaulted nurses with knife, police say

This is a disturbing article.  I am wondering if this was a psychiatric ward or a general medical unit.  From the sound of it I believe it was a mental health unit.  Usually, on a medical unit the patient does not leave bed to get medications.

I am finding more and more articles from all over the world about violence toward nurses and other health care personnel.  I know that violence often occurs when pain and frustration drive behavior, but nurses should not be at risk of harm or possibly death just for going to work.

When I enter the name of this facility in Google, I find this is indeed a psychiatric facility, operated by the State of Maryland, Department of Health and Mental Hygiene, Mental Hygiene Administration.


By Ryan Marshall, Times Staff Writer
Carroll County Times
Thursday, October 22, 2009

A patient at Springfield Hospital Center in Sykesville faces attempted murder and other charges after police said he attacked nurses at the facility Tuesday night.

Kevin Sherell Jackson, 52, was held without bail after a hearing Wednesday.Jackson faces three counts each of attempted first-degree murder, attempted second-degree murder, first-degree assault, second-degree assault and using a dangerous weapon with intent to injure and reckless endangerment.

State police were called to the hospital in the 6600 block of Sykesville Road around 10 p.m. Tuesday for a reported stabbing with three victims, according to court documents.

The investigation showed Jackson had gone to one of the nurses at the hospital asking for medicine for a headache.

When the two went into a room where medicine is kept, Jackson allegedly attacked the woman with what the court documents described as a knife but a state police press release described as a butter knife.

The nurse suffered a wound on the right chest and a bruise on her forearm, after which Jackson attacked another nurse outside the medicine room, according to the court documents. That nurse was stabbed in the neck, and another who came to help was also attacked.

The three women were able to get into a nurses station and lock the door, where they were able to activate a security alarm and notify a hospital operator of the alleged attack.

Jackson was restrained by hospital security until police arrived and the knife was recovered.

Carroll County Times: Westminster, Maryland

Blogged with the Flock Browser
October 22, 2009 - Posted by | Mental Health | , ,

1 Comment »

  1. Actually this was a psychiatric facility. ( forensics ). Nothing ever happens to these patients. Most of the time they are not even tried. Not competent to stand trail or Not Criminally Responsible for there actions, so they can do it again. Does any one care. Not really. You get assaulted and punished, they make you feel like you did some thing wrong to cause this assault. I know I was assaulted twice within three months, first assault I was pushed over a table by a resrained patient, hit my head and maybe knocked out I don’t remember got up and was forced to work the rest of the shift. Went to concentra and sent back to work the next day. Was anything done to the patient “No” I was transfered to an admission unit with a concussion where the patients are very dangeruos and unpredictable, My Punishment I Guess. I felt scared and had panic attacks and over whelming anxiety. I verbalized my concern about feeling unsafe I was never moved On July 2006 I was assualted for the second time suffered several injuries and a concussion again. Now I suffer from PTSD/ Anxiety. I sit in my car four hours before work anticipating another assualt. I live with anxiety 24/7 it never goes away. Right now Im being treated for PTSD/Anxiety my compensation has been suspended and my psychotherapy is pending a second opinion when workmans comp has had several second opinions from their doctors. How much more can I take this is not fair. God help assualted nurses.

    Comment by Ruth | January 9, 2012 | Reply


Leave a Reply

