The Mental Health Minute

Articles and news about mental health issues

Accused mom ‘has had some mental health treatment’

This article deals with a tragedy.  A child is dead.  There is no reason or excuse for this to happen.
That said, I posted this article because of two things.  First, the “mental health” issue being set forth as a possible defense in the news.  This really troubles me because everyone is responsible for their actions–good, bad, neutral.
If someone with mental illness commits a crime, please treat them properly while they do the corrective action for the crime.  That is my opinion.
The second reason I posted this particular article has to do with culpability.  If this mother was indeed ill, where was the father?  According to this article he was sleeping right in the same apartment.  He did not hear the child crying?  Was he so totally unconcerned for the care and welfare of his two infant sons that he left everything up to the “mentally unhealthy” mother?  Too often in cases like this the mother is vilified while the father escapes unscathed.  The last time I checked, it takes two people to produce a baby and in a marriage there are two people responsible for the welfare of the offspring.  Has this changed?
_______________________________________________________________________________________
By Tim Gurrister (Standard-Examiner staff) 
Last Edit: Feb 9 2010 – 12:05am

OGDEN — Bail has been set at $250,000 and psychological evaluations have been ordered for Jewell Hendricks, who has been charged with murder in the death of her infant son, Robert.

Hendricks is accused in the killing of one of her 2-month-old twin sons early in the morning of Jan. 24 in the apartment she shares with her husband on the 400 block of 27th Street.

“In my dealings with her, and in talking with family and friends, there are concerns I have with her mental state at the time of the offense,” Ryan Bushell, Hendricks’ public defender, said Monday of his reasons for requesting the evaluations last week.

“She has had some mental health treatment in the past,” Bushell said, declining to offer further details.

A hearing to air the results of the psychological probes by two court-appointed mental health professionals is set for April 1 before 2nd District Judge Michael DiReda.

On the chance Hendricks makes bail, DiReda has issued a no-contact order, and a juvenile court judge is banning the mother from seeing her other son.

The state Division of Child and Family Services initially took custody of the child, officials said, and Hendricks is allowed to have contact with the foster parents. Family members have volunteered to care for the child, a process screened in juvenile court.

“From the state’s perspective, we don’t want her to be around anyone’s children,” Weber County Attorney Dee Smith said of the 25-year-old Hendricks. He said her bail is commensurate with the allegations.

On Jan. 24, Hendricks called 911 to frantically report her baby had stopped breathing. Ogden police said her husband is believed to have been asleep at the time, but was awakened shortly afterward.

Paramedics transported the infant by ambulance, but he died on the way to the hospital.

Hospital officials reported that the child suffered a skull fracture, a broken collarbone, bleeding of the eye and bruising to the head and arms.

Frustrated at the infant’s crying, police said, Hendricks confessed she “murdered” her son by holding a sleeping bag over his face and “bear-hugging” him until he stopped crying. Autopsy results received Jan. 26 corroborate her statements, according to police.

Hendricks had initially been held without bail since her Jan. 24 arrest.

At a status conference Thursday, Bushell asked for formal setting of bail and requested $50,000. Standard bail for a first- degree felony is $20,000.

“But like any murder, we don’t see it as a standard bail case,” said Deputy Weber County Attorney Dean Saunders.

At the Thursday hearing, he requested bail be set at $250,000, which was granted by DiReda.

Here’s the post to the original article.

Reblog this post [with Zemanta]
February 11, 2010 - Posted by | Mental Health | , , , , , , ,

3 Comments »

  1. OMG!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! WHAT A BITCH. MENTAL OR NOT. I NORMALLY DON’T LET MY PERSONAL BUSINESS OUT THERE BUT I’M GONNA NOW. I’M ON SEVERAL DIFFERENT MEDS. FOR PANIC ATTACKS, ANXIETY,AND NOW I HAVE BIPOLAR #2, UGH. I HAVE FOUR KIDS. THEY ARE STILL ALIVE! AGES 12,8,4, AND 8 MONTHS. I’VE HAVE THIS PROBLEM FOR 8 YEARS NOW. SINCE MY MOM PASSED AWAY AT A YOUNG AGE OF BRAIN CANCER. THIS WHAT I WAS SAYING IN ANOTHER POST I LEFT, THEY GO FOR “SHE WAS INSANE” THAT’S GARBAGE TO ME. I’M SORRY. WALK AWAY, WALK OUT OF THE ROOM, COUNT TO TEN SLLLLLLLLLLLOWLY. TAKE SOME DEEP BREATHES AND WALK BACK IN. IT WORKS. I’VE DONE IT. I NEVER THOUGHT OF HARMING MY KIDS BUT I’VE GOTTEN FRUSTRATED, I’M ONLY HUMAN AND KIDS DON’T COME WITH INSTRUCTIONS. WHAT AND AWFUL AWFUL CRIME. I HOPE SHE ROTS.

    Comment by Brandy | June 1, 2010 | Reply

    • Brandy,
      I wholeheartedly agree with you. Kids don’t come with any instructions and yet we all have to learn to deal with the trials and tribulations attached. The lawyers are trying to give this woman the best defense they can, but really….do they have to stoop this low? I am sorry for your issues and hope that you are dealing with them well. I know that you will be setting a good example for your own children by getting help and following treatment. God bless you and keep you and your family happy and healthy and safe.

      Comment by Shirley | June 2, 2010 | Reply

      • Thank you. Yeah my issues I have NOTHING to do with my kids. But also I have never wanted or thought of hurting my children. On the other hand, this insane crap these lawyers try to give these ladies truly make me sick. I get do get frustrated, yes, but I’m onl human as well. With or without meds. My youngest was VERY colic, oh my, how awful lol. But just took him to the doc, he gave us some stuff for him and it worked great. Also read the book for my four year old called 123 magic, its a wonderful book, walk out of the room. ya know? Come back, it works. You got to find what works for you and the child as well. and I thank you for the reply. And we are all doing great. I used to think something was wrong with me, lol, because I’m sooo interested in true crime. But after joining this, I see i’m not alone . But thank you again for your kind words.

        Comment by Brandy | June 2, 2010


Leave a Reply

